ONELOVE - BETTERDAYS - Mixed By Ron Carroll & Franky D




One of Australia’s premium event brands, Betterdays , has been  the destination  for over 60,000 house music –loving party goers over the last 18 years, and now presents its long –overdue first ever CD release mixed by Chicago’s Ron Carroll & Melbourne’s Franky D.

Focusing on beauty and glamour, with a strong emphasis on fashion, style, and unbridled hedonism, Betterdays is a clubbing and style institution. Betterdays has stuck to its house guns for over 18 years, ignoring dancefloor fads (does anyone remember nü-rave now?) in search of the finest of soulful and funky house. Betterdays’ patent blend of timeless grooves is guaranteed to help beat the winter chill by warming the soul with sun-dappled house.

Now, to coincide with national appearances by Chicago producer Ron Carroll, Betterdays comes to CD with a brand new compilation of sexy, funked-up house sounds for lovers of dance music with soul, groove and sophistication, featuring tracks from the likes of Dimitri From Paris, Joey Negro, Crazy P, Kathy Brown, Kings Of Tomorrow, Sidney Samson, Chuck Love and more.

Singer, songwriter and all-round Chicago house legend Ron Carroll is a natural fit for the first.  Betterdays compilation. Carroll has headlined Betterdays several times, and his deep and intimate knowledge of house went down so well that he was asked to create the first Betterdays compilation. Carroll has worked with the biggest names in house music including E-Smoove, Maurice Joshua, Axwell, and Bob Sinclar. He has also brought a house flavour to the masses with his production and remix work for Beyoncé, Destiny’s Child, P!nk, Mary J. Bilge, and Mariah Carey.

Franky D, resident DJ at Melbourne night spot Alumbra, has been working his magic behind the decks for nearly twenty years, mixing latin, disco, jazz, soul, funk and gospel into a tasty house music stew. In the beginning he played underage music parties and worked as an industry insider with Mushroom records and Kiss FM, but these days you’re more likely to find him tearing the roof off Alumbra using only his Mac laptop, a MIDI controller, and the freshest house sounds around.


Track List

Disc 1

Mixed By Franky D

1. DJ Meme Orchestra feat. Rachel Claudio - Any Love (Dimitri From Paris Classic Disco Mix)

2. Mike Dunn presents The MD X-Spress - Feel The Muzik (Mike Dunn's BlackBall Mixx)

3. Parov Stelar - Silent Snow

4. The Sunburst Band - Rough Times (Joey Negro Club Mix)

5. Yass - When Doves Cry (Muthafunkaz Remix)

6. Christian Hornstobel - 84 Kings street (Main Mix)

7. Danism - La La

8. Chuck Love feat. FourFeet - Freak Technique

9. Tom Drummond - X-Rated (Sonny Fodera plays the Bass Remix)

10. Gabriel Rene feat. J. Soul - Spirit (Guy Robin Classic Vocal Mix)

11. Uptown Express - Praise (Sunday Morning Part 2)

12. Gorge - Kassiande

13. Duke - So In Love With You (A Cappella)

14. Crazy P - Disc Odyssey (Remix)


Disc 2

Mixed By Ron Carroll

1. Rob Rolefes - Ultra Violet

2. JJ Flores & Steve Smooth feat.Collette - Stay (John Dahlback Remix)

3. Audio Soul Project - Get Off Your High Horse (Subsky Remix)

4. Unisex Inc. - K.I.P

5. Mina Jackson & The Children - Pray (Mike Dunn's Vocal Mix)

6. Kathy Brown - Darlin' (RC's Live At The Temple SF Mix)

7. Kings Of Tomorrow feat Rae - Can't Stop (Sandy's Mix)

8. Kyle Szmurlo - Pancakes (Worthy's Flap Jackin' Remix)

9. Trnsstr - Wild Sound

10. Wipe The Needle - Hard Knocks

11. Nathan Drew Larsen - Touch Me (King Roc Remix)

12. Superfreaque feat Dino V. -Good Good (RC's Tech House Mix)

13. Jjah V.S. Ron Carroll - Dancin With You (Menvilla Afro Tech Remix)

14. Sidney Samson - Get That Vibe

15. Ron Carroll - Bump To Dis (Groovenatics Bump The Dub)

16. RC Groove - Nuthin But Funk