Booka Shade are Berlin-based duo Walter Merziger and Arno Kammermeier, and have emerged as one of the most pioneering electronic music acts of the past two decades. Booka Shade return with their new album ‘Eve’ released on 1st November through Blaufield Music/Embassy One/Onelove Recordings, preceeded by first single ‘Love Inc’, released on 18th October 2013.

For their fifth studio album Booka Shade wanted to tell a new story, a story which represented a new beginning for them after they had almost split up during the first half of the production. In order to create something exciting they needed to be somewhere exciting and in search of inspiration headed to the UK home of electronic music, Manchester, to record at the acclaimed Eve studios, a residential vintage recording studio. This is where they found themselves together again, where the music came to life and why the album is named after the studio.

“We recorded an electronic album in a traditional way and it made us feel like a band again, it was like going back to the beginning. ”

The 12 track album includes special guests Fritz Helder (Azari & III)Fritz Kalkbrenner, and Groove Armada’s Andy Cato on trombone.  Artwork was conceived and designed by La Boca to provide a rich and vivid visual accompaniment to ‘Eve’.

Booka Shade singles have historically been both underground sensations and club hits (such as ‘Mandarine Girl’ and ‘Body Language’) and new single ‘Love Inc’ looks set to follow in those footsteps. ‘Love Inc’ is infused with pure club sound, paying a contemporary homage to Chicago’s former king of house, Lil Louis, whose 1992 hit ‘Club Lonely’ serves as the track’s sample. Friend and art director Thomas Hayo was brought on board to direct the song’s music video in the vein of their last collaboration on “Sweet Lies”. Details to be announced.

Remixes come from artists including: Hot Since 82, Butch, Emperor Machine and ABBY.

About Booka Shade:

In 2002 Booka Shade formed dance label Get Physical with M.A.N.D.Y, Thomas 'DJ T' Koch and production partner Peter Hayo, and became one of the worlds key dance labels. They released their first three albums on Get Physical, ‘Memento‘ (2004), ‘Movements’ (2006) & ‘The Sun & The Neon Light‘ (2008). Their last album, 'More!' (2010), was released on Cooperative Music. Tracks such as ‘Night Falls’, ‘Mandarine Girl’ and ‘In White Rooms’ became crossover hits and arguably their biggest hit ‘Body Language’ which is sung by festival goers the world over and was also used as a sample by in ‘Get Your Money’ in 2007. Their most recent DJ mix ‘Tomorrow Belongs To Us’ also reached #1 on the Beatport charts in 2012.

The Berlin pair went on to become highly sought after remixers, lending their magic touch to artists such as Depeche Mode, Moby, Yello, Hot Chip, Kings Of Leon, Tiga, and The Knife.

Booka Shade have earned a huge live reputation with their substantial and innovative live shows and in 2010 were named by Resident Advisor as one of the world’s Top 5 live acts. Already this year they have opened for Depeche Mode at the first show of their current world tour in Tel Aviv and headlined the Gobi Stage at CoachellaIn 2012, they were hand picked by BBC Radio 1’s Pete Tong to mix his annual ‘All Gone Ibiza’ compilation. DJ appearances so far this year have included the Space Ibiza opening party, and a range of U.S festivals including the Electric Daisy Carnival in Las Vegas.,


Track listing below:

  1. Love Inc (Radio Edit)
  2. Love Inc (Original)
  3. Love Inc (Booka’s Deep Inc Radio Mix)
  4. Love Inc (Hot Since 82 Remix)
  5. Love Inc (Booka’s Dirt Mix)
  6. Love Inc (Emperor Machine Remix)
  7. Love Inc (Butch Remix)
  8. Love Inc (Richie G Remix)